The Unwanteds Spell Parade

Hello Fantasy Lovers,

Recently we finished The Island of Silence, the second book in The Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann.  As we were reading we came up with the idea of creating our own spell ideas, much like the students of Atrime do in the novel.  So here is a video with a parade of AFFL students and one AFFL teacher explaining their spells.

I personally thought the ending of Island of Silence was outstanding.  It was a perfect second novel in a series.  I am now eagerly awaiting the next installment, as I need to know what is going on with the island of silence, the weird neck barbed wire thing and what is going to happen to Artime.

I would love to hear some AFFL thoughts on the end of the book and some predictions for the next story.  Hit that comment button and let me know what you are thinking.
Festooon!!

Mr. H

ps.  I think we might have found our next AFFL book.  Goblin Secrets by William Alexander just won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.  It looks right up our alley.

Posted on November 15, 2012, in Fantasy Books, Unwanted and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Mr H.
    You forgot to put my spell on!
    Abby W.

  2. that looks like an interesting book, I hope that maybe we could read The Hobbit, so then we could go and see the movie.

    P.S. the end of Island of Silence is sad, and a cliffhanger! I want the third book!

  3. You guys are awesome!! Love your spell ideas!

    • You rock Lisa McMann, I love your books! Thank-you for being so kind to us and supporting us. We (AFFL) really appreciate your kindness to a bunch of plain students like us. Thank-you for everything.

    • Hey Ms.McMann,
      I am a student that left AFFL because I moved to a new school. But I’ve read the Unwanteds and I think it’s the best book in the world

  4. Carly, Sahana, and the girl with the penguin

    Mr. H – Please fix these videos, the sound is very off from the picture!! Not to be harsh, but you kind of suck at editing.

  5. I would love to read “Goblin Secrets”, it looks interesting

  6. mr. h, we need to have a potter party. but unwanteds is still aaaawwwwwwsssooooommmeee

  7. Hello my fellow AFFL members, I have a couple of things I would like to share with you.
    1. LISA MCMANN POSTED ABOVE ME!!! OMG!!!
    2. Mr. H, you need to work on editing. The sound is very off.
    3. I think that we should read The Hobbit and NOT read our own books. If we read our own books and take turns making videos, then that will give away book details to those who haven’t read the book. Also you can’t have a discussion with someone about a book they haven’t read. And, BOOKCLUBS ARE ALL ABOUT TALKING ABOUT THE BOOK! Therefore, we have to read the same book to talk about it. I could go on for hours (or pages) about this topic, but here are some of my points. I will bring it up again during the next AFFL meeting.
    4. I like the penguin spell.
    5. Bye!

  8. Woop Woop,

    HEY GUYS!!! CAN U C MY POSTS!!!!

    ITS KISHAN, THE ONE THAT LEFT AND MAY COME BACK!!!!!
    INGRID WOULD KNOW ME!!!!

  9. Not to be an insult, but I never noticed that Shea Dawson looks a lot like Ingrid Santiago.

    NOT AN INSULT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

